Lani Longshore's Blog

The county where I live is gently prodding its citizens to be more responsible. Grocery stores no longer offer plastic bags to shoppers, and charge a dime for paper bags. This is a good step – encouraging us to use fewer resources; to be aware that our actions (such as buying out the chocolate aisle because its going to be a really hard week) have consequences; to become more creative.

As a quilter, I have nearly as many tote bags as I do rulers. There are patterns for buttoned bags, zippered bags, pouched bags and fancy dress bags tucked among my quilting books. I can make a basic boxed-bottom tote with the same ease that I can sew a 9-Patch.

And yet . . . I’m going to miss my grocery store bags. For one thing, I used both varieties. The small plastic bags were stuffed in their very own…

View original post 211 more words

